Packers to Play Overseas Within Eight Years

By Adam Roberts – 3/30/2021

It sort of slipped underneath the conversation about the expanded 17-game regular season, but the NFL owners have also voted to change up the scheduling process for overseas games.

Beginning in 2022, the league will play four overseas games each year between the UK, Mexico, and possibly Canada and Germany. Each team would play in at least one regular season game overseas over an eight year period meaning the Packers, who remain the only team to not have played overseas yet, will finally lose that moniker.

Teams may still protect certain games on their schedule from being played internationally and teams will not be required to play more than one international game in any season.