Brewers’ Burnes Wins NL Cy Young

By Karl Sessions – 11/18/2021

The Milwaukee Brewers have their first Cy Young Award winning pitcher in nearly 40 years.

Corbin Burnes was announced as the recipient of the National League’s top pitching honor on Wednesday, becoming only the third pitcher in Brewers history to win the award.

The two previous wins came in back-to-back seasons, with Rollie Fingers and Pete Vuckovich winning in 1981 and 1982, respectively.

Burnes’ win marks the first NL Cy Young winner, as the wins for Fingers and Vuckovich came during the Brewers tenure in the American League (1970-1997).

Burnes became eligible for his first of three years of salary arbitration this offseason and is currently scheduled to become an unrestricted free agent in 2025, though, back in October, Brewers GM David Stearns alluded to the possibility of a contract extension in the works for Burnes.